North Carolina Auto Accident Laws

North Carolina auto accident laws are in place to protect its citizens and ensure that they receive just compensation for injuries and damages sustained in an accident. If you have been involved in a car accident in North Carolina, it is important to understand the laws that apply. This article provides an overview of North Carolina auto accident laws and what to do following a crash.

Fault-Based System

North Carolina is a fault-based system, meaning that the driver who causes the accident is responsible for any damages. This includes property damage, medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering. The at-fault driver’s insurance company typically pays for these damages.

Statute of Limitations

A statute of limitations is the time period in which a person can file a lawsuit. In North Carolina, the statute of limitations for personal injury claims resulting from an auto accident is three years from the date of the accident. If a lawsuit is not filed within this time period, the claim will be barred.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

All drivers in North Carolina must carry liability insurance. The minimum insurance requirements in North Carolina are:

  • $30,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $60,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident

Comparative Fault

North Carolina applies the doctrine of contributory negligence, which means that if a person is found to be even 1% at fault for an accident, they are barred from recovering damages. However, in some situations, a person may be able to recover damages if they can prove that the other driver was grossly negligent or reckless.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is not required in North Carolina, but it is advisable to obtain this coverage. This type of coverage provides protection in case you are in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver. It can also provide coverage if you are involved in a hit-and-run accident.

What to Do Following an Accident

Following an accident, there are several steps you should take to protect your rights and ensure that you receive just compensation for your injuries and damages.

  1. Call 911 and seek medical attention if necessary.
  2. Exchange information with the other driver(s) involved in the accident.
  3. Document the scene of the accident by taking photos and writing down notes.
  4. Report the accident to your insurance company.
  5. Speak to an experienced North Carolina auto accident attorney to discuss your legal options.


Know your rights under North Carolina auto accident laws and take the necessary steps to protect yourself after an accident. If you have been injured in an accident, seek the guidance of an experienced auto accident attorney to ensure that you receive just compensation for your injuries and damages.

Scroll to Top